2023 Annual Review

FRIDAY, AUGUST 18, 2023, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm

Session I: Welcome and Opening Remarks
Chair: Alejandro Dominguez-Garcia
9:00 a.m.  Program Highlights and Introductions, Alejandro Dominguez-Garcia
9:20 a.m.  In Memoriam: Prof. Peter W. Sauer (9/20/1946 – 12/27/2022) and Prof. M. A. Pai (10/5/1931 – 3/2/2023)
9:30 a.m. ECE Corporate Relations, Kat Darr
9:40 a.m. CEME and POETS, Kiruba Haran
9:50 a.m. Career Services Center, Monica Liu, Engineering Career Services (ECS) Website
10:00 a.m. Break

Session IIA: Students and faculty presentations
Chair: Andrew Stillwell
10:15 a.m. High Temperature Insulation for Electric Machines, Brian Wolhaupter
10:30 a.m. The Solution to 95% of Passenger EV Charging Daily Needs, Raya Mahony
10:45 a.m. Switched-drive Architecture of a Brushless Doubly-fed Reluctance Motor, Shivang Agrawal
11:00 a.m. Control Architecture for LLC Resonant Converter Using Output Diode Current, Anuj Maheshwari

Session IIB: Students and faculty presentations
Chair: Subhonmesh Bose
11:15 a.m. Fast Algorithms for Analyzing Transient Stability of Large-scale Power Systems, Hong-Ming Chiu
11:30 a.m. Sparse Learning of Markovian Dynamics and Its Application to Power Systems, Boya Hou
11:45 a.m. State of Affairs of ECE, Illinois, Bruce Hajek
12:00 a.m. Break

Session III: Industry Round Table Discussion: One Year After the Enactment of the Inflation Reduction Act
Chair: George Gross
2:00 p.m. Thomas Dagenais, ATC, Michael Ennis, S&C, James Parejko, G&W, Jason Wibbenmeyer, Ameren
4:00 p.m. Adjournment

RECORDINGS:  PAP23_1 (1 GB)  |  PAP23_2 (1.4 GB)
AUDIO: PAP23_AUDIO_1 (155.8 MG) | PAP23_AUDIO_2 (106 MG)